Digital Humanities

Digitalisation can be regarded as one of the most significant developments of recent decades even in the humanities and social sciences. More and more digital sources and the tools for linking and evaluating them are available, regardless of time or place. And they are revolutionizing interdisciplinary research.

Tunnel aus "Nullen" und "Einsen"; © Thinkstock

Thinkstock

From the creation of digital editions and the simulation of migratory movements to the computer-aided reconstruction of historical artefacts, the combination of the humanities and computer science is opening up unprecedented, far-reaching possibilities.

The still quite young discipline of "Digital Humanities" is in itself interdisciplinary or transdisciplinary. It is developing new methods for the representation, visualization and analysis of research data and, with its constantly evolving methods, is opening up completely new, fascinating insights into issues in the humanities – and more besides.

But where does the meeting of the two worlds of the humanities and computer science lead? And what about their interaction with the social sciences, natural sciences and life sciences? What are the implications of working with new digital sources and methods? How does this impact on the way we conduct research, teach, use and disseminate results?

With its funding guideline (Federal Gazette of 22.07.2019), the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) is funding research into the further theoretical, methodological and technical advancement of the digital humanities. These are interdisciplinary research projects dealing with concrete, challenging areas of research in the humanities and reflecting on how insights are acquired in the humanities. In order to do justice to the wide range of humanities source material which are not texts, the BMBF especially supports research on non-text-focused and multimodal objects such as combinations of images, sound and text.

Digital Humanities

Die Digitalisierung kann auch in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften als eine der bedeutendsten Entwicklungen der vergangenen Jahrzehnte gelten. Immer mehr digitale Quellen und Werkzeuge zu deren Verknüpfung und Auswertung sind verfügbar, unabhängig von Zeit und Ort – und sie revolutionieren die interdisziplinäre Forschung.

Tunnel aus "Nullen" und "Einsen"; © Thinkstock

Thinkstock

Angefangen von der Erstellung digitaler Editionen über Simulation von Wanderungsbewegungen bis hin zur computergestützten Rekonstruktion historischer Artefakte – die Verbindung von Geisteswissenschaften und Informatik eröffnet nie dagewesene, weitreichende Möglichkeiten.

Die recht junge Disziplin „Digital Humanities“ ist per se inter- oder transdisziplinär ausgerichtet. Sie entwickelt neue Verfahren zur Repräsentation, Visualisierung und Analyse von Forschungsdaten und eröffnet mit ihren sich ständig weiterentwickelnden Methoden vollkommen neue, faszinierende Einblicke in (nicht nur) geisteswissenschaftliche Fragestellungen.

Doch wohin führt das Aufeinandertreffen der beiden Welten Geisteswissenschaft und Informatik und zudem mit den Sozial-, Natur- und Lebenswissenschaften? Was bedeutet die Arbeit mit neuen digitalen Quellen und Methoden? Welche Auswirkung hat dies darauf, wie wir forschen, lehren, Ergebnisse nutzen und verbreiten?

Mit der Förderrichtlinie (Bundesanzeiger vom 22.07.2019) fördert das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) die Forschung zur theoretischen, methodischen und technischen Weiterentwicklung der Digital Humanities. Es geht um interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekte, die eine konkrete, anspruchsvolle geisteswissenschaftliche Forschungsfrage bearbeiten und dabei reflektieren, wie geisteswissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse gewonnen werden. Um der großen Bandbreite an geisteswissenschaftlichem Quellenmaterial auch über Texte hinaus gerecht zu werden, unterstützt das BMBF insbesondere die Forschung an nicht-textfokussierten und multimodalen Untersuchungsgegenständen wie die Kombinationen von Bild, Ton, Text.